Collecting Log 8/2/22: Star Wars Legacy AT-AT Walker on the way!

As always after telling myself not to look for anything else after getting the Imperial Shuttle at an excellent deal came across another deal that was too good to pass up!

Secured a Star Wars Legacy Hoth AT-AT Walker for the collection and while it’s incomplete and yellowed paid $39 for it and it’s missing the side doors, 1 chin cannon and should be fairly easy to complete and when my Brother comes in next month I’ll ask him to help me with getting the yellowing off it after reading up on how to do that.

Should not be that hard to get the yellowing off this AT-AT Walker, but for $39 I could not pass this up and this is the side that’s yellowed, pic is from the ebay listing I got and I am very satisfied now to have corrected yet another big regret of mine since I regretted getting rid of this vehicle years ago and still have the original box for it in the attic so this should not be that hard to restore.

It won’t take me long to find the two upper doors for the vehicle and I’ll be satisfied with it once those two main parts are added and the other chin cannon and will need to replace one of the side cannons that is cracked.

Most Legacy Hoth AT-AT walkers I find on ebay are always missing the rear hatch where the speederbike goes so looking at this Walker it should be easy enough to clean the yellowing off with the Baking Soda and Dawn mix that I’ve read about that works with getting yellowing off plastic toys.

Adding another Imperial Walker to the collection now has me down to getting the vintage Imperial Walker and the Endor Power of the Force Imperial walker if I want all of the ones that were released, I will have to go up to the attic to get the old Galactic Heroes Imperial Walker that’s stored up there down and put it on display somewhere.

Dipped into this month’s collecting budget to get the AT-AT and while I am supposed to avoid getting anything else for 2 weeks getting this AT-AT now cuts down time I’d spend hunting for this vehicle leading to ending up getting something else.

Looking at what I want for August has now become one main figure and then parts for the AT-AT Walker so will end up picking up Transformers Legacy Motormaster and go to the Antique store and maybe work out a trade with my old Trading partner for some more Star Wars figures.

I LOVE Large Star Wars vehicles and the AT-AT is one of my top favorite huge vehicles from Star Wars so having both of the versions of the large Legacy Imperial Walkers in the collection makes me happy.

Will be getting the Imperial Walker the same way I’ll be getting the vintage Imperial Shuttle via UPS Ground and while most sellers that I see on ebay always end up having the most expensive Shipping Option finding that when I inquire about if it could be shipped Parcel or by UPS Ground that always ends up with me picking up the item I’m interested in because usually I’ll get a good offer from that seller.

Looking back at the Legacy Line of Vehicles it feels like that was the last time Hasbro released huge vehicles prior to the Vintage Collection and if they released this size scale today it would be a Haslab Project.


So this week I’m expecting:
Transformers Studio Series Dinobot Sludge
Star Wars Vintage Imperial Shuttle
Star Wars Legacy AT-AT Walker

Getting both the AT-AT and Imperial Shuttle have satisfied what urge I had to go hunting for more deals this month!

Last month snagged great deals and this month started off with snagging the AT-AT so it’s things like this that help me to not spend so much time looking for things after these huge vehicles arrive.

I’d still love to get an Republic Gunship but can push that off till September same for any other Mecha I’m currently thinking about.

Dental Costs are causing me to rethink collecting and it’s nice to not have so much coming in at one time so I am hopeful as usual that this will be that month I can rest easier without contemplating what else to pick up or have a back and fourth Get it or Not Get it when a deal pops up at a price I can’t refuse.

I would have been fairly content to have just the Legacy Endor AT-AT in the collection but after getting that Vintage Snowspeeder restored last month felt a strong urge to get another AT-AT and the Legacy Hoth AT-AT popped up at a price I could not refuse at all so all things considered I consider this a big win for the collection grabbing that AT-AT.

A flawed item doesn’t bother me, I’m used to restoring older vehicles and that’s part of the fun to me of being a collector and finding it works well for the budget and if a Star Wars vehicle is incomplete and costs almost nothing I’ll grab it and spend a few months getting it restored.

So August’s prime objective now is to get the 2 doors for the Legacy AT-AT and then get things ready to try and get the yellowing off it, plus my Brother will help get the 2 3D Printed parts that were picked up for the Imperial Shuttle painted to where they match the color of the Shuttle so all that remains for the shuttle is to get the shuttle canopy glass.

And again it’s a late night update to the blog almost 3am but at this time just finding myself wondering where I’ll park the AT-AT here and will move things around yet again to make room for it and the shuttle will arrive Thursday so looking forward to getting the Shuttle and AT-AT this week.

Time to sleep, if I can’t I’ll probably listen to Star Wars music cause feeling a need to listen to the Imperial March at 3am in the morning.